Replacing Attachments

We’ve improved the Channels posting form so that you can now replace an attachment by deleting the existing attachment and re-uploading it in one step. (Previously, you had to delete the attachment, save the item, then reattach and save again.) We’ll continue to investigate how to make replacing existing attachments even clearer and easier. Check the Beta Blog for future updates on this front.

Item permissions and remembering your defaults

We’ve listened to your feedback and we’re pleased to announce that we have two new features for Channels editors.

Permissions

Want to allow a certain group of people, or selected individuals to collaborate with you on your News, Events, and Announcement items? Now you can select them on all News, Events, and Announcements posting/editing forms. Just go to the last tab, labelled “Permissions”, and select the individuals or groups to whom you wish to give editing rights, using a tool similar to the channel selector. Note, that the people who appear in the list are only those who have News, Events, or Announcements posting rights themselves. You will also see a list of Active Directory groups to which you belong — you can assign item permissions to an AD group, not just individual people. Once the item is saved, it should show up in the “My Items” page for those who have access to it.

Saved Preferences

If you find that you are always choosing the same channels over and over, this feature is for you. It’s simple — just click the box beside “Make this my default selection” underneath the channel selector, and these channels will be selected by default on every new item you post. In addition, this feature is available for Permissions as well, so if you are collaborating on a regular basis with the same individuals or groups, you may want to save your preferences on the Permissions tab in the same way.

New feature for editors

In order to make the transition from the old system of News, Events, and Announcements to Channels a bit easier, we’ve added a new feature on the “Contribute” forms. It’s a character countdown that auto-updates as you type into one of the short Description fields. While you’re inside the limit, the number will appear brown, however once you go over the limit, the number will become negative and also turns red. The limit is 400 characters, and applies to both French and English fields. If you leave a very long description in either short Description field, you will be warned when you submit your data that it will be truncated.

The instructions on the Description tab have also changed to reflect this new feature. We strongly encourage you to make use of the flexibility of the new system by only entering a short synopsis of your Channels item in the short Description field, and afterwards, if you have a lot of details, please enter them into the Long Description field.

Check out the following images (click on them to view full size) for examples of the new feature in action.

New description tab look

Over the character limit.

Blog authors are solely responsible for the content of the blogs listed in the directory. Neither the content of these blogs, nor the links to other web sites, are screened, approved, reviewed or endorsed by McGill University. The text and other material on these blogs are the opinion of the specific author and are not statements of advice, opinion, or information of McGill.